Skip to main content alibris logo

Village Works

E-mail Village Works

Overall Seller Rating:

Alibris seller since March 2021


Search for books from Village Works Advanced Search

Spotlight book from Village Works

$29.95

Add to Wishlist

Foundation: B-Boys, B-Girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York

by

New. B-boying is a form of Afro-diasporic competitive dance that developed in the Bronx, NY in the early 1970s. Widely-though incorrectly-known as "breakdancing, " it is often dismissed as a form of urban acrobatics set to music. In reality, however, b-boying is a deeply traditional and profoundly expressive art form that has been passed down from teacher to student for almost four decades. Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York offers the first serious study of b-boying ...


No Sleep: Nyc Nightlife Flyers 1988-1999 used book

No Sleep: Nyc Nightlife Flyers 1988-1999

by

$200.00

Edition: 1st Edition Binding: Hardcover Publisher: powerHouse Books Date published: 2016 ISBN-13: 9781576878088 ISBN: 1576878082

Description: As New. Inscribed by Author(s) Spanning the late 80s through the late 90s, when nightlife buzz traveled via flyers and word of mouth, No Sleep features a collection of artwork from the personal archives of NYC DJs, promoters, club kids, nightlife impresarios, and the artists themselves. Signed by the author, DJ Stretch Armstrong, "For Joseph Thanks for the help in making this happen (peace sign) Stretch (arrow) Read More

condition:

Book: Fine/Like New

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul used book

Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul

by

$40.00

Binding: Hardcover Publisher: Dey Street Books Date published: 2017 ISBN-13: 9780062439697 ISBN: 0062439693

Description: Near Fine. Signed by Author(s) 8vo-over 7¾-9¾" tall. Signed by author on title page, " J. Moss" "Essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and Cheap Pierogi" Vanity Fair An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to lost New York by the creator of the popular and incendiary blog Vanishing New York. For generations, New York City has been a mecca for artists, writers, and other hopefuls longing to be part of ... Read More

condition:

Book: Very Good

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

The Drag Queens of New York: an Illustrated Field Guide used book

The Drag Queens of New York: an Illustrated Field Guide

by

$300.00

Edition: 1st Edition Binding: Softcover Publisher: Riverhead Books Date published: 1996 ISBN-13: 9781573225526 ISBN: 1573225525

Description: Near Fine. Rare. This smart, witty, and insightful tour of Manhattan's most dazzling arena of style--the wildly popular culture of drag--features interviews with Lypsinka, RuPaul, Lady Bunny, and other notorious queens who can click their heels--even when they're eight inches off the ground. Read More

condition:

Book: Very Good

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Please Kill Me: the Uncensored Oral History of Punk used book

Please Kill Me: the Uncensored Oral History of Punk

by

$16.00

Binding: Softcover Publisher: Grove Press Date published: 2006 ISBN-13: 9780802142641 ISBN: 0802142648

Description: Very Good. ? Ranks up there with the great rock & roll books of all time. ? ? Time Out New York? Lurid, insolent, disorderly, funny, sometimes gross, sometimes mean and occasionally touching? Resounds with authenticity. ? ? The New York Times? No volume serves juicier dish on punk? s New York birth? Tales of sex, drugs and music that will make you wish you? d been there. ? ? Rolling StoneA contemporary classic, Please Kill Me is the definitive oral history of the most nihilistic of all pop ... Read More

condition:

Book: Very Good

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Radiance new book

Radiance

by

$10.95

Binding: Softcover Publisher: Rebel Satori Press Date published: 2016 ISBN-13: 9781608641215 ISBN: 160864121X

Description: New. ? Emanuel Xavier? s newest book radiates in diverse directions, back into a past of New York club kid glamour and violence, into a family history of lost connections, and into loves forfeited and found-all of which the poet illumines with steady-eyed honesty. Finally, as he confronts a health challenge to the very brain that is the root-place of these sharp and poignant poems, radiation becomes radiance, a hard-won inner light that lets us all see how? splendid is our survival. '? ? David ... Read More

condition:

Book: New

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Christ Like new book

Christ Like

by

$19.95

Binding: Softcover Publisher: Queer Mojo (A Rebel Satori Imprint) Date published: 2019 ISBN-13: 9780979083853 ISBN: 0979083850

Description: New. For the first time ever, a selected poetry collection from Emanuel Xavier, renowned LGBTQ poet and one of the Latinx community? s treasures. When he first emerged as a Nuyorican Poets Café slam poet in the 1990s, Emanuel Xavier quickly took his place as one of the first openly queer, celebrated, controversial and significant poets of the era. Now, decades later, as a former homeless teen and a hate crime survivor, Xavier still stands as one of America? s most inspiring and powerful voices ... Read More

condition:

Book: New

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Andy Warhol new book

Andy Warhol

by

$6.95

Edition: 1st Edition Binding: Softcover Publisher: Childrens Pr Date published: 1999 ISBN-13: 9780516260754 ISBN: 0516260758

Description: New. Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists series combines a delightful mix of full-color historical reproductions, photos, and hilarious cartoon-style illustrations that bring to life the works of renowned artists, combining poignant anecdotes with important factual information for readers (Ages 8-9). A biography of a man who helped develop Pop Art and made art fun for many peopl. Read More

condition:

Book: New

Available Qty: 2

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Alvin Baltrop: the Piers (Tf Editores) new book

Alvin Baltrop: the Piers (Tf Editores)

by

$65.00

Edition: 1st Edition Binding: Hardcover Publisher: TF Editores Date published: 2015 ISBN-13: 9788415931232 ISBN: 8415931239

Description: New. Wrapped in Plastic, Never Open. Due to the weight of this book, we will request an additional $5(domestic) to $20 (international) shipping from the buyer, after order is placed. Powerful, lyrical and controversial, Alvin Baltrop's photographs are a groundbreaking exploration of clandestine gay culture in New York in the 1970s and 80s. During that era, the derelict warehouses beneath Manhattan's West Side piers became a lawless, forgotten part of the city that played host to gay cruising, ... Read More

condition:

Book: New

Available Qty: 2

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA

Keith Haring's Line: Race and the Performance of Desire used book

Keith Haring's Line: Race and the Performance of Desire

by

$29.95

Edition: 1st Edition Binding: Softcover Publisher: Duke University Press Books Date published: 2020 ISBN-13: 9781478009535 ISBN: 1478009535

Description: New. In the thirty years since his death, Keith Haring? a central presence on the New York downtown scene of the 1980s? has remained one of the most popular figures in contemporary American art. In one of the first book-length treatments of Haring? s artistry, Ricardo Montez traces the drawn and painted line that was at the center of Haring? s artistic practice and with which the artist marked canvases, subway walls, and even human flesh. Keith Haring? s Line unites performance studies, ... Read More

condition:

Book: Good

Available Qty: 2

 

Seller Name & Rating:

Village Works, NY, USA