Skip to main content alibris logo
Miss Willie - Giles, Janice Holt, and Hall, Wade (Foreword by)
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Miss Willie, first published in 1951, is the second novel in Janice Holt Giles's Piney Ridge trilogy, which includes also The Enduring Hills and Tara's Healing. Although the plot is fictional, the central character is based on Giles's mother and some of the episodes are drawn from her life. This is the story of a dedicated teacher who moves to the hills of Kentucky to teach in a one-room schoolhouse at Piney Ridge. Zealously she tries to change the ways of the stubborn and proud Appalachian people - but to no avail. They ...

Miss Willie 2005, University Press of Kentucky

ISBN-13: 9780813118857


Miss Willie 1994, University Press of Kentucky, Lexington

ISBN-13: 9780813108315

Trade paperback

Miss Willie 1984, G. K. Hall & Company, Boston, MA

ISBN-13: 9780816136490

Large type / large print