Skip to main content alibris logo
The Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956: Volume One - Solzhenitsyn, Aleksandr I
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

The Gulag Archipelago is Solzhenitsyns attempt to compile a literary-historical record of the vast system of prisons and labor camps that came into being shortly after the Bolsheviks seized power in Russia in 1917 and that underwent an enormous expansion during the rule of Stalin from 1924 to 1953. Various sections of the three volumes describe the arrest, interrogation, conviction, transportation, and imprisonment of the Gulags victims by Soviet authorities over four decades. The work mingles historical exposition and ...

The Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956: Volume One 1997, Basic Books, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780813332895

Trade paperback