Skip to main content

E J Hannan

E. J. Hannan (1921 1994) was Professor of Statistics at the Australian National University in Canberra. He was a pioneer of modern time series analysis and winner of both the Pitman Medal and the Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal. The Australian Academy of Sciences commemorates his work by awarding the Hannan Medal every two years to recognise achievements of Australians in pure mathematics, applied and computational mathematics and statistical science.