Claire Tomalin

Claire Tomalin is the author of eight highly acclaimed biographies including "Thomas Hardy" and "Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self," which won the 2002 Whitbread Book of the Year Award. She has previously won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Biography, the Whitbread First Book Award, the Hawthornden Prize, the NCR Book Award for Non-Fiction, and the Whitbread Biography Award.