Russell Banks is the author of thirteen works of fiction. He has received numerous prizes and awards for his work, including the O. Henry and the Best American Short Story Awards, John Dos Passos Prize and the Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He is the President of the International Parliament of Writers, following Wole Soyinka and Salman Rushdie. He lives in upstate New York.