Skip to main content

Alan Franks

Alan Franks's first novel, Boychester's Bugle, published in 1982, was praised by the author Tom Sharpe as "brilliantly comic." His novels since then have included The Sins of the Sons, The Notes of Dr. Newgate, a Guardian book of the year in 2014, and The Adventures of Wendy Howard-Watt. His poems have won several awards including the inaugural Wigtown Prize, Scotland's international competition, and, in 2014, The Wilfred Owen Association's prize on the centenary of the First War. Five albums...See more