These poem-stories are a strange retelling of seventeen Grimms fairy tales, including "Snow White," "Rumpelstiltskin," "Rapunzel," "The Twelve Dancing Princesses," "The Frog Prince," and "Red Riding Hood." Astonishingly, they are as wholly personal as Anne Sexton's most intimate poems. "Her metaphoric strength has never been greater -- really funny, among other things, a dark, dark laughter" (C.K. Williams).

Transformations 2001, Mariner Books, Boston

ISBN-13: 9780618083435

Trade paperback

Transformations 1972, Oxford University Press, Oxford

ISBN-13: 9780192118172


Transformations 1971, Houghton Mifflin, Boston, MA

ISBN-13: 9780395127216

Unknown binding