Frost Award 2015 Winner Announced: Congratulations to Kamau Brathwaite

Kamau Brathwaite, the PSA's 2015 Frost Award winner
Kamau Brathwaite, the PSA’s 2015 Frost Award winner

The Poetry Society of America has chosen to give their highest honor, the Frost Award, to Kamau Brathwaite.

This is the twelfth award Brathwaite has received. Some other honors bestowed on the poet include the Guggenheim fellowship, the Fulbright fellowship and the Griffin Poetry Prize. He is the author of 38 books.

Born in Barbados, Brathwaite is considered one of the leading voices in Caribbean poetry. A Cambridge graduate, he teaches comparative literature at NYU.

Braithwaite will receive the the 2015 Frost Award April 16th at a ceremony at the Grand Ballroom. There will be readings by Sandra Meek, Dean Rader, Brynne Rebele-Henry, Bridget Lowe, James Richardson, Karen Skolfield, Cathy Linh Che, and Jennifer Moxley. This is the 105th year the Poetry Society has held the awards. Ten other awards will be given, including the Shelley Memorial Award. If you live in the New York area, you may be interested to know that entry is free.

Previous winners of the Frost Award include Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Lucille Clifton, Charles Simic, Marilyn Nelson. The 2014 Frost Award went to Gerald Stern. Check out some of Kamau Brathwaite’s books by clicking on the link below.

Featured books by Kamau Brathwaite
Our featured books by Kamau Brathwaite

Comments are closed.