W.A. Mozart: Nachtmusik [Book & CD] - Christian Rutherford (horn); Robert Howes (tympani [timpani]); Roger Montgomery (horn); The English Concert;...
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency
Track Listing
  1. Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major ("Eine kleine Nachtmusik"), K. 525
  2. Adagio and Fugue for string quartet (or string orchestra) in C minor, K. 546
  3. Menuet and Trio in C major (with W.A. Mozart: aka K. 485a)
  4. Serenade No. 6 for orchestra in D major ("Serenata Notturna"), K. 239
  5. Divertimento for 2 horns & strings in F major ("Ein musikalischer Spass," "A Musical Joke"), K. 522
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres

When you see a piece as familiar as Mozart's Eine kleine Nachtmusik on the track list, and a thick, hardcover booklet inside the packaging, you have to expect some kind of radical interpretation. This odd but absorbing disc by Andrew Manze and the English Concert does not disappoint. Things start off fairly conventionally with Eine kleine Nachtmusik, the first work on the disc. The music is played on historical instruments, and the repeat of the second half of the first movement is taken -- both unorthodox choices, but ...

W.A. Mozart: Nachtmusik [Book & CD] 2005, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 794881782222