Very Saxy - Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis/Buddy Tate/Coleman Hawkins/Arnett Cobb
Track Listing
  1. Very Saxy
  2. Lester Leaps In
  3. Fourmost
  4. Foot Pattin'
  5. Light and Lovely

Tenor saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and his quartet (which includes organist Shirley Scott, bassist George Duvivier and drummer Arthur Edgehill) welcome three immortal tenors (Coleman Hawkins, Arnett Cobb and Buddy Tate) to what became a historic and hard-swinging jam session. On three blues, an original based on the chord changes of "Sweet Georgia Brown" and "Lester Leaps In," the four tenors battle it out and the results are quite exciting. The spirited music on this memorable LP will hopefully be reissued on CD ...

Very Saxy 2008, Prestige

UPC: 888072306493


Very Saxy 1991, Original Jazz Classics

UPC: 025218645829