Set in Texas, The Gay Place consists of three interlocking novels, each with a different protagonist - a member of the state legislature, the state's junior senator, and the governor's press secretary. The governor himself, Arthur Fenstemaker, a master politician, infinitely canny and seductive, remains the dominant figure throughout.

The Gay Place 1994, University of Texas Press, Austin, TX

ISBN-13: 9780292708310

Univ of Texas PR edition

Trade paperback

The Gay Place 1983, Frederick Muller Ltd, London

ISBN-13: 9780856341427