Set in the cities and islands of the Mediterranean, and linked thematically, the eight stories in The Foxes Come At Night read more like a novel, a meditation on memory, life and death. Their protagonists collect and reconstruct fragments of lives lived intensely, and now lost, crystallized in memory or in the detail of a photograph. In 'Paula', the narrator evokes the mysterious, brief life of a woman he once loved; in 'Paula II', the same woman is aware of the man thinking of her. No longer a body, she is slowly fading ...

The Foxes Come at Night 2013, MacLehose Press, London

ISBN-13: 9781849165570

Mass-market paperback

The Foxes Come at Night 2011, MacLehose Press, London

ISBN-13: 9780857050236