Selected Plays of Guan Hanqing - Hanqing, Guan, and Yang, Xianyi, Professor, and Yang, Gladys, Professor (Translated by)
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Containing eight plays by the magnificent Guan Hanqing, the Shakespeare of China. Hanqing lived in the 13th century, at the height of the Yuan Dynasty. An actor himself, he is said to have written more than 60 plays for the traveling theater groups which flourished on the mainland in those days. His works concerned history, deception, treachery, men, women, and the abuse of official power. Also of note are the powerful and resourceful women he gives in such comedies as Rescued by a Coquette, the portrayals of middle-class ...

Selected Plays of Guan Hanqing 2007, Silk Pagoda

ISBN-13: 9781596543904

Trade paperback