These incisive, utterly unique pieces swoop and soar from Hollywood to Fifth Avenue, from show biz to high literature, from first sex to the First Amendment, attacking America's absurdities with an informed sense of the serious. Elkin offers biting yet humorous essays in the tradition of Saul Bellow and Philip Roth.

Pieces of Soap: Essays 2016, Tin House Books

ISBN-13: 9781941040379

Trade paperback

Select
Pieces of Soap: Essays 1992, Simon & Schuster, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780671734428

Hardcover

Select