Weekend Exclusive! Take 5% Off. Get the code »

Mosaic - Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers
Track Listing
  1. Mosaic
  2. Down Under
  3. Children of the Night
  4. Arabia
  5. Crisis

This is the one that started it: Mosaic, recorded in 1961, was the first recording of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers as a sextet, a setting he kept from 1961-1964. The band's front line was trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, trombonist Curtis Fuller, and tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter; Cedar Walton played piano and Jymie Merritt (a criminally underappreciated talent) was the bassist. Everything on this set was written by the musicians in the band. Walton wrote the burning title track; its blazing tempo and Eastern modes were ...

Mosaic 2006, Blue Note

UPC: 094633776920


Mosaic 1990, Blue Note

UPC: 077774652322