Weekend Exclusive! Take 5% Off. Get the code »

Maiden Voyage - Herbie Hancock
Track Listing
  1. Maiden Voyage
  2. The Eye of the Hurricane
  3. Little One
  4. Survival of the Fittest
  5. Dolphin Dance

Less overtly adventurous than its predecessor, Empyrean Isles, Maiden Voyage nevertheless finds Herbie Hancock at a creative peak. In fact, it's arguably his finest record of the '60s, reaching a perfect balance between accessible, lyrical jazz and chance-taking hard bop. By this point, the pianist had been with Miles Davis for two years, and it's clear that Miles' subdued yet challenging modal experiments had been fully integrated by Hancock. Not only that, but through Davis, Hancock became part of the exceptional rhythm ...

Maiden Voyage 1999, Blue Note

UPC: 724349533127