Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Kimmo Hakola: Clarinet Concerto

by , , ,

The gradient, emerald-green cover artwork consisting of a number of expressionless fish combined with a menacing, bronze-colored empty diving outfit makes for one of the most beautiful, original, and ominous compact disc covers ever created. This Ondine release also offers some of the best proof yet that one can judge a book by its cover.This disc features the work of a man whose works may soon become more widely known: composer and Finn Kimmo Hakola. Born in 1958, Hakola composes with a style that is not yet quite wholly his own, but with potential for greatness. Folk music has clearly played a big role in his music, which he often infuses with oriental (including Mongolian) descent.In the Clarinet Concerto (2001), one of Hakola's aims is to build on the breadth of those styles, which he heavily utilized in his Piano Concerto (1996). The 40-minute concerto is cast in four movements. The first opens with some cold, tumultuous orchestra writing alternating with a bluesy solo clarinet line, interjected... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $10.19
Buy new from  $10.19

Change currency

Reviews of Kimmo Hakola: Clarinet Concerto

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Kimmo Hakola: Clarinet Concerto

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Kimmo Hakola: Clarinet Concerto

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!