In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel", "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a ...

How Fiction Works 2012, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291210

Audiobook CD

Select
How Fiction Works 2009, Picador USA, New York

ISBN-13: 9780312428471

Trade paperback

Select
How Fiction Works 2009, Vintage, London

ISBN-13: 9781845950934

Mass-market paperback

Select
How Fiction Works 2009, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291197

Audiobook CD

Select
How Fiction Works 2009, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291227

MP3 format

Select
How Fiction Works 2009, Findaway World

ISBN-13: 9781433291265

Unknown binding

Select
How Fiction Works 2008, Farrar Straus Giroux, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780374173401

Hardcover

Select
How Fiction Works 2008, Jonathan Cape Ltd, London

ISBN-13: 9780224079839

Hardcover

Select
How Fiction Works 2008, Jonathan Cape Ltd, London

ISBN-13: 9780224079846

Airports / Export edition

Mass-market paperback

Select