Skip to main content alibris logo
Gold - Louis Armstrong
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency
Track Listing
  1. What a Wonderful World
  2. Cabaret
  3. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  4. Mame
  5. Solitude
Show All Tracks
  1. What a Wonderful World
  2. Cabaret
  3. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  4. Mame
  5. Solitude
  6. Hello Dolly
  7. You Go to My Head
  8. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  9. A Fine Romance
  10. Georgia on My Mind
  11. When You're Smiling (The Whole World Smiles with You)
  12. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  13. Mack the Knife
  14. Rockin' Chair
  15. Basin Street Blues
  16. Someday (You'll Be Sorry)
  17. It Takes Two to Tango
  18. A Kiss to Build a Dream On
  19. Gone Fishin'
  20. (I'll Be Glad When You're Dead) You Rascal You
  21. La Vie en Rose
  22. My Sweet Hunk O' Trash
  23. Blueberry Hill
  24. (What Did I Do to Be So) Black and Blue
  25. Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?
  26. I Wonder
  27. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  28. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  29. Ain't Misbehavin'
  30. When the Saints Go Marching In
  31. Struttin' with Some Barbeque
  32. Swing That Music
  33. Old Man Mose
  34. I'm in the Mood for Love
  35. St. Louis Blues
  36. Lazy River
  37. West End Blues
  38. Potato Head Blues
  39. Wild Man Blues
  40. Heebie Jeebies
Show Fewer Tracks

Annotator Bob Porter begins his liner notes to Hip-O Records' Louis Armstrong compilation Gold by citing a chart statistic: Leadoff track "What a Wonderful World" became a Top 40 hit in 1988, 20 years after it was recorded, due to its inclusion in the movie Good Morning, Vietnam. That is a clue to the approach that the collection takes -- this is a hits-oriented album concerned more with Louis Armstrong the pop star of the '50s and '60s than Louis Armstrong the jazz musician of the '20s and '30s. In part, that focus is ...