God Among the Shakers: The Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake

by

Write The First Customer Review
God Among the Shakers: The Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake - Skees, Suzanne
Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

In the tradition of "Plain and Simple" and "The Cloister Walk", this book offers a rare, intimate account of one woman's journey into the world of the Shakers--a radical Christian sect whose belief in a Mother-Father God, equal rights for all, and direct interaction with the spirits of the dead shocked other established religious communities. NPR sponsorships.

God Among the Shakers: The Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake 1998, Hyperion Books, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780786862375

Hardcover

Select