The author follows "A Mother's Secret" and "Flowers in the Desert" with a story of four women whose lives are intertwined by their marriages to the same man, whose life is ended by murder. It tells of their efforts to break free of his influence and build for themselves lives with other men.

Getting Even 1991, Fawcett Books

ISBN-13: 9780449147245

Mass-market paperback

Getting Even 1991, Piatkus Books, London

ISBN-13: 9780749900205