Garland of the Buddha's Past Lives (Volume 1)

by ,

Write The First Customer Review
Garland of the Buddha's Past Lives (Volume 1) - Aryashura, and Meiland, Justin (Translated by)
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

The Garland of Past Lives is a collection of thirty four stories depicting the miraculous deeds performed by the Buddha in his previous rebirths. Composed in the fourth century C.E. by the Buddhist monk Aryashura, the text's accomplished artistry led Indian aesthetic theorists to praise its elegant mixture of verse and prose. The twenty stories in this first volume deal primarily with the virtues of giving and morality. Ascetics sacrifice their lives for hungry tigers, kings open their veins for demons to drink their ...

Garland of the Buddha's Past Lives (Volume 1) 2009, Clay Sanskrit, New York

ISBN-13: 9780814795811