When a group of young political activists met in 1944 to launch the African National Congress Youth League, it included the nucleus of a remarkable generation of leaders who forged the struggle for freedom and equality in South Africa for the next half century: Nelson Mandela, Oliver Tambo, Walter Sisulu, Jordan Ngubane, Ellen Kuzwayo, Albertina Smith, A. P. Mda, Dan Tloome, and David Bopape. It was Anton Lembede, however whom they chose as their first president. Lembede, who had just begun practicing law in Johannesburg, ...

Freedom in Our Lifetime: Collected Writings of Anton Muziwakhe Lembede 1996, Ohio University Press

ISBN-13: 9780821411490