Dobrinka Tabakova: String Paths - Amichai Grosz (viola); Boris Andrianov (cello); Donatas Bagurskas (double bass); Janine Jansen (violin); Julia-Maria Kretz (violin); Kristina Blaumane (cello); Maxim Rysanov (viola); Raimondas Sviackevicius (accordion); Roman Mints (violin)
Track Listing
  1. Insight, for string trio
  2. Concerto for cello & strings
  3. Frozen River Flows, for violin, accordion & double bass
  4. Suite in Old Style, for viola, harpsichord & strings
  5. Such different paths, for string septet
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres

Bulgarian-British composer Dobrinka Tabakova was impressed during her studies by such figures as Sofia Gubaidulina, Giya Kancheli, and perhaps Alfred Schnittke. Yet the music on this collection doesn't follow any of those examples slavishly. The Baroque elements of Schnittke's music are present in the Suite in Old Style for viola, harpsichord, and strings, but there is nothing neo-classic about the work. Instead, Tabakova extends the massed sound of Baroque music into a series of abstract planes, ornamented with other small ...

Dobrinka Tabakova: String Paths 2013, ECM

UPC: 028947648260