This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives. "Bicycles Locked to Poles" began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility -- pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a ...

Bicycles Locked to Poles 2005, McSweeney's, San Francisco, CA

ISBN-13: 9781932416251

Trade paperback

Select