Find Your Next Favorite Book
New books for fans of fiction
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Kydd: A Naval Adventure

by

Published to coincide with Scribner's hardcover publication of "Artemis, " the second volume in an 11-volume series, "Kydd" is at once a masterpiece ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $6.00

Change currency

Reviews of Kydd: A Naval Adventure

Overall customer rating: 4.500
Jekyll

British Navy

by Jekyll on Feb 22, 2009

Have read all the Patrick O'Brien books and when I heard about this series was anxious to read. This book pertains more to the regular sailor as opposed to the officers. I look forward to the second in the series

RoyW

Great New Series

by RoyW on May 11, 2007

This is the best new series for lovers of nautical fiction. In the tradition of Hornblower and O'Brien, Stockwin is following the career of a British naval officer throughout the Napoleonic Wars. The most unusual aspect of the series is that our hero starts before the mast and lives the life of an impressed landsman before gradually rising through the ranks and through society. Kydd is neither as wooden as Hornblower nor as human as Lewrie, but he is a well-developed character on whom to hang an excellent series. Lovers of naval technical language will be guaranteed to encounter terms you don't know, even if you have read all the way through Lenfesty's excellent dictionary (as I have). Those who eschew jargon may safely skim over the thingamajiggy without losing the flow of the plot. My fear is that I am devouring the series far faster than Stockwin is writing. I am almost considering rationing myself to one book a month. No sea dog's collection is complete without this series.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about Kydd: A Naval Adventure

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!