Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $6
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 1416544666 / ISBN-13: 9781416544661

The Glass Castle: A Memoir

by

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $14.65
Buy new from  $114.50

Change currency
  • The Glass Castle: A Memoir (Scribner Book Company) – Mass-market paperback (2006)
    by Jeannette Walls

    The Glass Castle: A Memoir

    Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company
    2006
    English
    368 pages

    ISBN: 1416544666
    ISBN-13: 9781416544661

    Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her ... Show more

  • 1. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $14.65

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    WEST SUSSEX, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All...

    Show details
  • 2. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $31.37

    Add to Cart

    Description: Fine. Language: English, ships from Germany by airmail.

    Show details
  • 3. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $70.73

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    NY, USA

    Description: Very good. Great customer service. You will be happy!

    Show details
  • 4. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $71.36

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    FL, USA

    Description: Very good.

    Show details
  • 5. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $112.88

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fair

    Ships from:
    TX, USA

    Description: Fair. Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return...

    Show details
  • 6. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $114.50

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    JS, CHINA

    Description: New. Book Paperback. Pub Date: 2005-1-1 Pages: 355 Publisher:...

    Show details
  • 7. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $129.95

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fair

    Ships from:
    CO, USA

    Description: Fair. Mass market (rack) paperback. Glued binding. 368 p.

    Show details
  • 8. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $142.06

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    FL, USA

    Description: New.

    Show details
  • 9. Mass-market paperback, Scribner Book Company, 2006

    $142.06

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    NY, USA

    Description: New. Great customer service. You will be happy!

    Show details

Reviews of The Glass Castle: A Memoir

Overall customer rating: 4.759
Sharon M

Good enough to read twice!

by Sharon M on Mar 27, 2014

I borrowed this book years ago, but it haunted me so I bought it and reread it! Be sure to order the Half-Broke Horse by the same author. Both are autobiographies.

larry s

amazing and amazing

by larry s on Jan 25, 2013

wouldn't believe the trials and hardships endured by the children in the book except had a smaller scale experience, which makes me a good candidate to judge and the book is believable.

Malcolm J
by Malcolm J on Jan 3, 2013

Ace story, well written and a very good read. Crazy family life. Reminded me of my mum struggling to bring up me and my sister on her own. Interesting time when the family arrive in Welch, West Virginia. They must have been there about the same time as the Rocket Boys.

senior
by senior on Dec 30, 2010

This is not a book for the faint of heart, very sad and even hard to imagine. You will fall in love with the main player, Jeannette and her strength.

beverly f

The Glass Castle

by beverly f on Oct 27, 2010

This book was riveting from start to finish. Coming from a dysfunctional family myself, I could relate; but was astounded by the constant moving around by Ms. Walls' parents. Even though I grew up in abject poverty, we at least stayed grounded in school, friends, and environment. It would have been good to hear about the left-out period of her life, during which she improved herself.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Glass Castle: A Memoir

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!