Find Your Next Favorite Book
derived
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 0142001740 / ISBN-13: 9780142001745

The Secret Life of Bees

by

A fabulous coming-of-age debut novel which has sold over 5 million copies worldwide and has now been made into a stunning feature film Lily has ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $4.97
Collectible from  $1.99

Change currency
  • The Secret Life of Bees (Penguin Books) – Trade paperback (2003)
    by Sue Monk Kidd, McDougal Littel (Prepared for publication by)

    The Secret Life of Bees

    Trade paperback, Penguin Books
    2003
    English
    Revised ed.
    336 pages

    ISBN: 0142001740
    ISBN-13: 9780142001745

    The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014 "The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth ... Show more

  • 1. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Fine. This book is almost new and shows only very slight signs...

    Show details
  • 2. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Very good. This copy shows very minor wear. Free State Books....

    Show details
  • 3. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Very good condition-book only shows a small amount of wear....

    Show details
  • 4. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    TX, USA

    Description: Very good. Nice condition with minor indications of previous...

    Show details
  • 5. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Very good condition book with only light signs of previous use....

    Show details
  • 6. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Very good. It's a great copy. Like finding department store tags...

    Show details
  • 7. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MD, USA

    Description: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear...

    Show details
  • 8. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    WA, USA

    Description: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and...

    Show details
  • 9. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MO, USA

    Description: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding,...

    Show details
  • 10. Trade paperback, Penguin Books, 2003

    $0.99
    List price: $16.00
    You save: $15.01 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    GA, USA

    Description: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear...

    Show details

Reviews of The Secret Life of Bees

Overall customer rating: 4.393
Gloria  W

Surprising twists and turns in the theme.

by Gloria W on May 19, 2014

There is a sad beginning to this story, the father is abusing his 14 yr. old daughter. His anger forces the girl to run away from home and into a new life. She begins to heal and build a safe life with a household of beekeepers. It is a book that was hard to put down.

Malcolm J

Secret life of Bees

by Malcolm J on Nov 8, 2012

Great story, very well written. Loved it, and sorry when I reached the end. Would take this book with me if I was stranded on a desert island.

Reinhold K
by Reinhold K on Feb 2, 2012

Still have not received this book ordered it over a month ago have contacted the company that was supposedly shipping it but they have never re-contacted us. We have emailed them and asked them to resend the book or at least call us and talk to us and we have gotten nothing from them. To say the least I am not happy with this Company's lack of communication. If there is something you can do to resolve this I would certainly appreciate it Carl King owner Wall2 Wall Words Milam Street Coffee shop 979/282-9881

Read more...
helper

Nothing like the flick

by helper on Dec 3, 2011

Sprinkled throughout this novel just when I am feeling that I am following a child's foolish fantasy is Sue Monk Kidd's description of scent and the memory it evokes for Lily. For example, upon recognizing her mother's scent on a fifth-grade teacher, who tells her it is Ponds Cold Cream, Lily is "shocked." But she is not upset by learning the source of the smell, or because the teacher donns it; her reaction is caused by the scent itself. For if the author wished to convey that the teacher shocked Lily, the word "shocked" would have been placed away from the word "scent" and nearer to the word "teacher." Instead, we read, It was a shock when I came upon the scent [of my mother] on my fifth-grade teacher, who said it was nothing but plain ordinary Ponds Cold Cream. This sentence structure conveys the feeling that scent evokes for the character, Lily. And that feeling is portrayed with a word derived from the French word choc, indicating an armed encounter, as in battle. Lily associates this lasting memory with her own inner struggle. This technique is what carried me all the way through The Secret Life of Bees to the end.

Read more...
ModelAEraLady

Secret Life of Bees

by ModelAEraLady on Jul 14, 2011

Arrived in good condition and on time. This was an excellent read. Good depiction of life in the South.

Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Secret Life of Bees

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to The Secret Life of Bees

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!