Print Page
To Kill a Mockingbird

Reviews of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

by Harper Lee

'Shoot all the Bluejays you want, if you can hit 'em, but remember it's a sin to kill a Mockingbird.' Lawyer Atticus Finch gives this advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is ...

Average Customer Rating: 4.728 out of 5 4.7 out of 5
33 of 33 (100%) customers said they would recommend this book to a friend.

Customer Reviews of To Kill a Mockingbird

Top 250 Contributor Top 250 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
classic literature, Aug 5, 2013
by oddjohn

"I purchased this for my daughters summer reading assignment. she enjoyed it immensely."

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Sep 28, 2012
by Lavelle B

"My family loves the movie and wanted to read the book....so happy to find it on your sight.
Several members of my family will read this book. Thanks"

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Wonderful Classic!, Aug 5, 2012
by Cherie C

"I had never read this classic novel, and I am so glad I finally did. I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it."

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 500 Contributor Top 500 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Interesting, May 31, 2012
by Barbara H

"Even though it is a high school English requirement, it is an accurate account of how people were treated at that time in history. The movie is pretty close to the book so if you have a chance watch the movie too. It brings it to life more than the book."

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent Book - Excellent Audio Version, Jul 9, 2011
by Stephanie M

"An excellent work of literature! As an 8th grade teacher I share this novel with my students each year and this audio book is the best version I have ever found. Sally Darling's narration is top-notch with spot-on inflections and cadence that allow the listener to transport themselves to Scout's world flawlessly. A must read - and a must listen!"

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Signed by "Scout", Oct 28, 2010
by dbmullin

"One of my wife's favorites--both the book and the movie--and to have the book with the signature of the actress who played Scout in the movie really made it special."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 1000 Contributor Top 1000 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
A classic!, Oct 7, 2010
by TonyReviews

"Always love a classic. Harper Lee did a great job bringing this Alabama childhood to life."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
to kill mockingbird, Jun 11, 2010
by Rabran

"the book was in good shape. I will recommend people to order from your company"

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Awesome, Jan 15, 2010
by Michou

"Reading this book in english class was the most wonderful gift my teacher could ever give. It was so insightful in opening one's eyes about opening someone's heart, the most important lesson known to humanity."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Nov 8, 2009
by alebby

"Well, I think that this book has an amazing way of getting to you. It is such a sad ending and you really get a feel for what is happening. I recommend that you do not spend most of your time with the beginning but try to take it slow for the end because it is all very interesting and critically important."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Wonderful Story, Aug 24, 2009
by Bolingbrookbookie

"If you have never read To Kill A Mockingbird, read it... please. If you read it in high school, read it again as an adult.. Read it with your pre-teen or your grandchild. It is a wonderful way to begin a meaningful discussion of race and prejudices."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 250 Contributor Top 250 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Jun 30, 2009
by MsTapeWorm

"I read both the book and watched the movie while in high school and loved both. The movie definitely didn't butcher the book like most these days. A dramatic, well executed, entertaining novel."

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 500 Contributor Top 500 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
First class novel, Jun 25, 2009
by HALp

"One of the all time best novels by an American author."

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 250 Contributor Top 250 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
May 28, 2009
by cookiereads

"this is one of my all time favorite books. I would recommend it to anyone."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great, Mar 29, 2009
by Najia

"I had to read this book in high school and we watched the movie as well. Both were very good."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 100 Contributor Top 100 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
American Child Essential, Mar 7, 2009
by fiddler

"For most, it's a required reading at the 9th grade-ish level... and rightfully so.

This book is an adult reflecting on her childhood... creating a tale of complexity, elegance, yet still retaining childhood innocence.

Basically sums up the wonders of growing up...including puzzling societal views and the realities of misconception.

It sounds like a puzzle, but it's tough to sum up beauty."

Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 50 Contributor Top 50 Contributor
Customer Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Classic Book Has Some Flaws, Nov 7, 2008
by The Pageturner

"Harper Lee's book is quite well-written and has been placed in the curriculum of many schools. But even though this is an excellent story, there are a few, nearly invisible flaws that go with it. The Black man who is accused of raping the White woman is taken to trial. That is a major flaw. In reality, most likely, the Black man never got a trial because he would certainly be lynched immediately. If you read the articles in Ralph Ginzburg's "100 Years of Lynching", you will notice a pattern of a mob forming, snatching the victim from the jail cell, and lynching him. The fact that the Black man in this story got so far as a trial is beyond me. I don't know if the author was simply trying to draw out the story or something, but that is the one flaw that stands out to me. Otherwise, it is a great book as far as stories go."

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
To Kill a Mockingbird, Oct 28, 2008
by ppatrie

"GREAT READ
This book was a required shcool read for me. Which automatically leans you toward thinking the book is going to be boring or dimwitted...or just lame in general. However, It turned out to be quite a good book. I really enjoyed the context of the book; it was cute, fun, emotional, and relatable(especially if you live in a southern or small town). Very seldomly can I admit to liking a book over it's theatrical twin, but i think I truly do prefer reading this book as apposed to watching it on the T.V.
In short: this book definatley has my recommendation. Every-body should get one (from alibris- of course) today and don't put it down untill you finish!"

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Top 250 Contributor Top 250 Contributor
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Should be a mandatory read, Oct 22, 2008
by HesterPrine08

"What I loved most about this book was Atticus Finch. He was the ideal father in every way. So his eye sight wasn't all that great for shooting (get over it Scout). Taking place in the Depression era south, Scout Finch recounts the story of a summer when her father took on a lightening rod of a case. Her and her brother Jem tried to solve the mystery of their neighboor Boo Radley, and learned of the compassion we all have inside of us if we are brave enough to let it out. One of the best books ever written."

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
Customer Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Teaching Tool, Jul 8, 2008
by Spiffy101

"I read this boo while attending high school in a very small town. I have always been an open-minded person but some of my classmates were the complete oppisite! When we read this book I could tell that they realized how they were acting was very foolish! This book will teach anyone and everyone to be openminded and they will learn to treat any person with respect."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Share this Review Facebook Digg DelIcioUs
  1-20 of 29    Next Page