Find Your Next Favorite Book
New books for fans of fiction
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Rachmaninov: Piano Sonatas 1 & 2 ()


Nikolai Lugansky's 2012 release of Sergey Rachmaninov's two piano sonatas is an in-depth exploration that compels close listening from beginning to end. These post-romantic works are typical of Rachmaninov's dense and sometimes over-wrought style, and they need an interpreter who not only can execute their virtuosic passagework cleanly, but also discern what is important and make it transparent. Lugansky certainly has the skills to play this music with dazzling speed and impressive muscularity, but he seems rather more inclined to clarify the themes and harmonies than to create a pianistic sensation. Because of his clear thinking and steady technical control, the essentials are easily found, and the torrents of notes never drown out the melodies or the secondary lines that provide continuity. Lugansky has acquired an enviable reputation for his Liszt performances, rightly so for their luminosity and brilliance. The textures are considerably heavier and thicker in Rachmaninov, so what comes across is... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $11.64
Buy new from  $11.64

Change currency

Reviews of Rachmaninov: Piano Sonatas 1 & 2

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Rachmaninov: Piano Sonatas 1 & 2

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Rachmaninov: Piano Sonatas 1 & 2

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!