Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 3, 4 & 7 ()


The string quartets of Dmitry Shostakovich don't quite follow the larger history of his works, defined by their intersections with the colossus of Soviet power. They were, at least for the first part of his career, private enough to avoid the imprecations of Stalin's commissars, and they are for the most part serious, inward works. The five-movement String Quartet in F major, Op. 73, was composed in 1946. It's an extraordinary work, balancing an elegant five-movement structure against a full consciousness of the horrors that had befallen Russia over the previous several years. Shostakovich throughout this quartet and the String Quartet No. 4 in D major, Op. 83, offers typical chunky Russian themes that as a movement develops are overwhelmed by the force of outer events in some way. The String Quartet No. 4, Op. 83, dates from three years later and goes even further, referring to Jewish folk materials especially in the finale; Shostakovich's champions, the Beethoven String Quartet, had the good sense... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $9.87
Buy new from  $9.87

Change currency

Reviews of Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 3, 4 & 7

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 3, 4 & 7

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 3, 4 & 7

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!