Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $6
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Debussy: Orchestral Works ()

by ,

Debussy's La Mer and the Pr?lude ? L'apres-midi d'un faune are standards, chestnuts even. The Images in full are somewhat less standard, but even so, Italian conductor Daniele Gatti and the Orchestre National de France, whose members must certainly have been playing these works since school days and been feeling a certain degree of fatigue with it, face a major challenge in creating something distinctive. And they succeed in impressive fashion. Gatti turns the orchestra's technical familiarity with the music to his advantage, delving into small details and lingering over passages that set Debussy's moods. Yet he doesn't lose any sense of the long line. He's not afraid to emphasize the climaxes, and La Mer builds over a wide dynamic range from its murky beginnings. After that, the Pr?lude begins with small orchestral gestures coalescing into a gorgeously rich forest scene. The Images end with a positively enthusiastic Rondes de printemps. The revivified Sony Classical, on a consistent roll, backs up... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $10.08
Buy new from  $10.08

Change currency

Reviews of Debussy: Orchestral Works

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Debussy: Orchestral Works

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Debussy: Orchestral Works

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!