Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7 ()

by ,

Mario Venzago and the Basel Symphony Orchestra perform the two most popular works by Anton Bruckner on this 2011 double-disc release, the Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, "Romantic," and the Symphony No. 7 in E major. Eschewing contemporary trends to record only original versions, Venzago uses the tried and true final revision of 1879-1880 version of the Fourth, and even observes the spurious cymbal crash in the Adagio of the Seventh, so there's no attempt made at period authenticity nor any pretense of fulfilling the composer's wishes, disputed as they have been for over a century. Instead, what is presented is a straightforward view of Bruckner, based on the conventions of the 20th century, and the familiarity of the versions and Venzago's direct approach help to reach the widest possible audience, while bypassing the complex issues of Bruckner's multiple editions. This unapologetic use of "standard" Bruckner frees Venzago to focus on the music's emotional core, and these performances are... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $22.55
Buy new from  $22.55

Change currency

Reviews of Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!