Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites; Concertos ()

by , , , , , , ,

In the early phase of the movement for authentic period practice, Trevor Pinnock and the English Concert were practically household names -- in early music households, anyway -- because of their critically acclaimed performances of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach and other Baroque composers. These exciting recordings of the Brandenburg Concertos, the orchestral suites, the harpsichord concertos, the violin concertos, and concertos for various instruments were made between 1979 and 1984, so they are a mix of ADD and DDD recordings. Yet because of Archiv's superb reproduction in both analog and digital technologies, these performances on original instruments are clean and crisp all the way through, with remarkable fidelity. What passes for historically informed style is open to change over the years, and many later performances of these works have demonstrated new ideas and approaches that are much freer in spirit. Indeed, Pinnock's interpretations and the group's technical execution can seem a bit... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $39.79
Buy new from  $39.79

Change currency

Reviews of Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites; Concertos

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites; Concertos

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites; Concertos

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!