Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Carl Czerny: Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2


Martin Jones's second volume of the piano sonatas of Carl Czerny covers the beginning and end of Czerny's work in the genre, and on the whole the music is more understated than what's in Jones's first volume. This one opens with Czerny's last sonata, No. 11, which dates from 1843, more than 20 years later than the Sonata No. 1 (1820), which is also on the first disc here. The sonata has more lyrical ideas present than in the middle sonatas, but still has its Beethovenian moments and some drama. An interesting feature of the first movement is the frequent use of octaves in the right hand, and there is a definite 19th century, salon- or music box-appropriate flavor at times. That flavor is also found in the Character Etude, Op. 755/1, and in the almost John Field-like delicacy of the Chanson sans Paroles, Op. 795/1, both of which date from around the same time as the Sonata No. 11. The Sonatas Nos. 1 and No. 2 have five movements each. The first four seem to follow a traditional sonata structure, with... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $31.18
Buy new from  $31.18

Change currency

Reviews of Carl Czerny: Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Carl Czerny: Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Carl Czerny: Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!