Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save $1 of any purchase
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Hannibal Lokumbe: Dear Mrs. Parks ()

by , , , , , , ,

Hannibal Lokumbe is a classical composer and jazz trumpeter also known by his first name only: Hannibal. In his classical compositions, Hannibal composes music that celebrates the African-American experience on its own terms, and in a wholly serious manner; it is not jazz-derived so much as it is Pan-African-American in spirit. Hannibal's previous effort, African Portraits (1995), was released by Nonesuch with much fanfare, but was ultimately criticized for eclecticism and over ambitiousness. Dear Mrs. Parks was a 2005 commission from the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and, if anything, the eclecticism is held in check; although the instrumental forces are still very large, with four soloists, two choruses, and an expanded orchestra with an added battery of percussion, Dear Mrs. Parks (2009) has a very singular purpose in mind. It is a cantata in 10 movements on Hannibal's own text in the form of letters addressed to Rosa Parks from four different characters, portrayed by soloists Janice Chandler-Eteme,... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $4.50
Buy new from  $4.50

Change currency

Reviews of Hannibal Lokumbe: Dear Mrs. Parks

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Hannibal Lokumbe: Dear Mrs. Parks

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Hannibal Lokumbe: Dear Mrs. Parks

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!