Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Carl Nielsen: String Quartets, Vol. 2 ()


This admirable coupling by the Young Danish String Quartet of Carl Nielsen's string quartets in F minor and E flat major bolsters the notion that Danish performers are still best suited to represent Nielsen's uniquely Danish compositional voice. Both works here are youthful compositions written in a style fusing those of Grieg and Brahms. The Young Danish String Quartet rips into the big theme of the F minor quartet's opening Allegro non troppo ma energico with rhythmic power yet still express the following Un poco adagio's warm heart with yearning lines and lushly balanced sonorities. With lucidly articulated lines and effervescently buoyant rhythms, the young Danish players' interpretation of the E flat quartet's unique combination of a pastoral tone with learned counterpoint is wonderfully poised between the natural and the intellectual. If your shelf can hold only one disc of Nielsen's F minor and E flat major quartets, this disc will securely fill the spot. Dacapo's super audio digital sound is... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $11.00
Buy new from  $11.00
Change currency

Reviews of Carl Nielsen: String Quartets, Vol. 2

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Carl Nielsen: String Quartets, Vol. 2

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Carl Nielsen: String Quartets, Vol. 2

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!