Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Christian Sinding: Symphonies 3 & 4

by ,

Norwegian composer Christian Sinding was winding down his long career when he wrote the Symphony No. 3 in F, Op. 121, and Rhapsody for Orchestra: Vinter og Vår heard here. CPO has elected to refer to the latter work as Sinding's Symphony No. 4, even though the work is laid out in seven short movements and is more of a tone poem or suite. The eminent Dutch conductor David Porcelijn takes the Radio-Philharmonie Hannover des NDR through these obscure scores so that listeners can hear what they sound like."Meistersinger-lite" is the phrase that to mind upon hearing Sinding's Third, which sounds in the first movement like a gentle Norwegian breeze wafting through a Wagnerian Valhalla. The piano piece Rustles of Spring, Op. 32/3, is Sinding's most famous work, and indeed there is a lot of "rustling" going on in Sinding's Third as well -- long chains of busy sixteenth notes flittering by as chorale-like chords are sounded in the winds and brass. The Radio-Philharmonie Hannover des NDR does a noble job of... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $10.44
Buy new from  $10.44

Change currency

Reviews of Christian Sinding: Symphonies 3 & 4

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Christian Sinding: Symphonies 3 & 4

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Christian Sinding: Symphonies 3 & 4

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!