Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

The Hot Kid

by

Hot cars, gun molls, speakeasies, bank robbers and murder are the game in this powerfully entertaining story from Elmore Leonard, the undisputed ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $1.53
Collectible from  $0.99
Change currency

Reviews of The Hot Kid

Overall customer rating: 2.000
dekesolomon

The Hot Kid ain't got no cool

by dekesolomon on Dec 12, 2009

We meet The Hot Kid as a teenage boy, the son of a rich, Oklahoma farmer and oilman. He witnesses a robbery and double homicide that doesn't seem to bother him, but he is traumatized when the bad guy steals his ice-cream cone. A dead shot, The Kid kills his first man at age 15. He grows up quick and hard and mean. He becomes a federal marshal, shoots all the bad guys in Oklahoma, marries a whore, and apparently lives happily ever after. That's it. That's the whole story. The Hot Kid is certainly not a detective novel but more the terse biography of a human killing machine. It doesn't qualify as a mystery because there is nothing mysterious about it. Cerebral activity is nowhere apparent in the characters, nor is any mental capacity required of readers. What wit one finds in this book is pretty dim. There is nothing in The Hot Kid for fans of Sam Spade or Philip Marlowe but plenty for those who like Dirty Harry. One hopes, therefore, that The Hot Kid is not your typical, law-enforcement success story. Moving quickly as it does from one shoot-out to another, The Hot Kid is hot stuff if you like that kind of stuff, but it's not so hot if you don't.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Hot Kid

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!