Find Your Next Favorite Book
New books for fans of fiction
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Dead Witch Walking

by

From New York Times bestselling author, Kim Harrison, comes the first book in an exciting urban fantasy series; packed with the perfect balance of ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $4.00
Collectible from  $50.00

Change currency

Reviews of Dead Witch Walking

Overall customer rating: 4.401
BeckyJG

Dead Witch Walking

by BeckyJG on Jul 12, 2009

Kim Harrison's Cincinnati is located in a United States in which witches, vampires, werefolk, and other creatures formerly thought of as inhabiting fable and fiction live side-by-side with humans. Or they have for the last forty years, since "The Turn," when humanity decimated a large percentage of its population with bioengineered diseases...diseases which had no effect on the non-humans they had no idea had always existed alongside themselves. Rachel Morgan is a witch who works as a runner, bringing down lawbreaking members of the supernatural, or Interlander, community. She's got a price on her head, her roommate and business partner is a non-practicing vampire, and a pixie family lives in her garden. Kim Harrison has posited an intriguing world, and worked out many of its details in an original and satisfying fashion. Her writing, however--at least in this, the first installment of the series--is awkward and rather hackneyed. Good for fans of Jim Butcher or Rachel Caine jonesing for a fix between installments.

Read more...
cwulf

Dead Witch Walking

by cwulf on Mar 26, 2009

Filled with quirky unique characters, this book goes into action mode and never lets up. Just a fun romp into the supernatural.

bjaymart

I loved it!!!!!!!!!

by bjaymart on Mar 25, 2009

I am hooked. I only got this book after I read Charlaine Harris' Sookie books. I was so bummed to have to wait for the next one. I am so glad I did I am hooked on the Sexy bounty hunter Rachel Morgan.

litepainter

The start of a great series.

by litepainter on Apr 25, 2007

I loved this book! It's a great combination of funny and serious with characters that show depth and a storyline that is both original and cohesive. After reading it, I ordered all the other books in the series.

lotts1948

Exciting new slant on an old subject

by lotts1948 on Apr 3, 2007

Rachel Morgan is a witch. She is a good witch. She works for I.S. as a runner; I.S. is the group that polices all the vampires, witches, demons, pixies, etc. Rachel has a hit put out on her and she leaves the I.S. to sit up her own practice. She has to avoid a demon who is centering on her because of powers and abilities she possesses that she does not even recognize. Rachel has a relationship with Jenks, a pixie, who goes on her runs with her and Ivy, who is a "living" vampire and also a runner. The excitement of this book never stops. The detail of the community called "the Hollows" is superb. The character development makes these characters people we want to know better and better. Read this and then read the other books in this series for a great new slant on an old subject.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about Dead Witch Walking

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!