Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Birchwood

by

Once the big house on an Irish estate, Birchwood has turned into a baroque madhouse for its ruined inhabitants. One disaster succeeds another, until ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $5.19
Collectible from  $48.00

Change currency

Reviews of Birchwood

Overall customer rating: 4.000
violetbooks

A gothic treasure!

by violetbooks on Apr 1, 2007

John Banville is a master of atmosphere and uncannily beautiful, detailed descriptions that so perfectly, headily transport the reader to its dark world. This book is an older one of his that's a classic gothic tale of shadowy thoughts and family dynamics. Its a bit more abstract than his most recent award winning The Sea, but its one of my favourites -and I've read almost all of his work. In the tradition of Patrick MacGrath or Poe, Banville delivers an unforgettable feast of tortured soul that I could not stop reading and will no doubt read again soon.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about Birchwood

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Birchwood

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!