Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

How Fiction Works

by

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel", "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating and ... Show synopsis

Change currency

Reviews of How Fiction Works

Overall customer rating: 5.000
becket

writers' resource

by becket on Apr 16, 2009

Woods gives you, the writer, very valuable insight into your craft. This book may take several readings to fully appreciate. It follows in the footsteps of E.M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel." Let's say you are concerned with expressing the thought of your character. Wood takes you through the evolution of this process from the Bible to present. His approach is to cite specific authors and their technique. As a result of reading Wood, I looked at a major POV in a novel I thought I had completed. I realized that the character spoke in my voice and not his own. This provoked thought as to what voice would this character have? What would concern him? How would he form his thoughts and speech? I can not promise you similar results because I do not know how deeply you are prepared to interact with Wood. But, if you are willing, the results are very worthwhile indeed.

Read more...
englishmajor1

Lives up to its title

by englishmajor1 on Sep 11, 2008

So many books on literary criticism with so much confusion regarding "point of view", but this little book, such at treat to read, gives the best sense of author- reader relationship, I've ever read. If you are a writer, in any capacity, read this book. You will see why some fiction works. and some doesn't. And for you English majors, it's just something you have to know.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about How Fiction Works

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!