Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 142644818X / ISBN-13: 9781426448188

The Purple Cloud

by

Dark, desolate and fantastical, "The Purple Cloud" was a pioneer in the genre of apocalyptic novels, and the first great science fiction work of the ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $16.55
Buy new from  $16.55

Change currency
  • The Purple Cloud (BiblioLife) – Trade paperback (2007)
    by M P Shiel

    The Purple Cloud

    Trade paperback, BiblioLife
    2007
    English
    260 pages

    ISBN: 142644818X
    ISBN-13: 9781426448188

    This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not impede the reading experience. We believe this work is culturally important and have elected to bring the book back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide.

  • 1. Trade paperback, BiblioLife, 2007

    $16.55
    List price: $21.99
    You save: $5.44 (25%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    SC, USA

    Description: New.

    Show details
  • 2. Trade paperback, BiblioLife, 2007

    $21.33

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: New. Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 260 p.

    Show details
  • 3. Trade paperback, BiblioLife, 2007

    $21.33

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fine/Like New

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Fine. Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 260 p.

    Show details

Reviews of The Purple Cloud

Overall customer rating: 4.000
Nicolas

the end of mankind

by Nicolas on Aug 17, 2010

Great book of another story about the end of the world (reccurent to this period of time ~1930) I just finished reading Earth abides and it is as good as this one, though different.

klarkash

Mind-bending Prose at the End of the World

by klarkash on Feb 19, 2008

This flawed but still magnificent 1901 work was an early "end of the world" novel, exerting an influence on Stephen King's "The Stand" among many others. Shiel's work is distinguished by indescribably ornate prose and a wide range of erudite references. The power of "The Purple Cloud" is also its downfall; the last third of the novel can't match the first sections, in which Shiel paints, with insane visionary power, the enduring modern fantasy of finding oneself the last man alive on earth. The protagonist Adam Jeffson is the first to reach the North Pole, where his presence seems to trigger a bizarre phenomenon of natural vengeance for his hubris- descending by ship from the pole, he finds not a single soul alive, as a lethal cloud of purple poison has spread over the earth, obliterating all life in its path. Jeffson, borne on waves of Shiel's billowing, decadent poetry of the damned, begins his own campaign of obliteration, burning the dead cities of the earth. Shiel achieves a heightened, widescreen glory unencumbered by plausibility- you will love or hate this book depending on your appreciation for verbal audacity and 50-cent words. Fans of Poe, Lovecraft, and Clark Ashton Smith will find much to appreciate here.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Purple Cloud

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!