Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $15
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 0767908376 / ISBN-13: 9780767908375

Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

by ,

In the tradition of "Longitude" and "Brunelleschi's Dome, " this is the fascinating story of Michael Servetus, a bold freethinker who discovered ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $3.65
Buy new from  $9.26

Change currency
  • Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World (Broadway Books) – Trade paperback (2003)
    by Lawrence Goldstone, Nancy Bazelon Goldstone

    Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

    Trade paperback, Broadway Books
    2003
    English
    368 pages

    ISBN: 0767908376
    ISBN-13: 9780767908375

    Michael Servetus is one of those hidden figureheads of history who is remembered not for his name, but for the revolutionary deeds that stand in his place. Both a scientist and a freethinking theologian, Servetus is credited with the discovery of pulmonary circulation in the human body as well as the authorship of a polemical masterpiece that cost him his life. "The Chrisitianismi Restituto," a heretical work of biblical scholarship, written in 1553, aimed to refute the orthodox Christianity that Servetus' old colleague, ... Show more

  • 1. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $3.65
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $12.30 (77%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Good. Pages may have contain writing, highlighting or notes. May...

    Show details
  • 2. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $5.01
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $10.94 (69%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fair

    Ships from:
    ID, USA

    Description: Fair. 0767908376 Paperback as shown. Book has been well loved,...

    Show details
  • 3. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $5.16
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $10.79 (68%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MA, USA

    Description: Over 50, 000 Books Shipped last year. NO highlighting...

    Show details
  • 4. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $5.19
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $10.76 (67%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    WA, USA

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details
  • 5. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $5.19
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $10.76 (67%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details
  • 6. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $5.19
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $10.76 (67%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MN, USA

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details
  • 7. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $6.50
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $9.45 (59%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Like New. 2003. Small publisher's mark on bottom of text block....

    Show details
  • 8. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $6.95
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $9.00 (56%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    WA, USA

    Description: Very good. Minor wear. Text is clean.

    Show details
  • 9. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $6.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $8.96 (56%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    TX, USA

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details
  • 10. Trade paperback, Broadway Books, 2003

    $7.49
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $8.46 (53%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    IL, USA

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details

Reviews of Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

Overall customer rating: 5.000
wordslea

Three in one

by wordslea on Jul 5, 2012

As the title intimates, the authors weave 3 stories into 1 suspenseful tale. The reader is left to ponder the fruit of two scholars, to judge their lives, and to marvel at the true Sovereign.

TELZALL

PAGE TURNING HISTORY!!

by TELZALL on Dec 2, 2010

The book itself was in excellent condition! The story it unfolded was informative, entertaining, heartbreaking and an intellectual adventure through the 16th Century. It gave a particularized characterization of the Inquisition by focusing on one man's struggle over religious and scientific free thought. I found the theological controversy over the doctrine of the Trinity enlightning and refreshing.

Read more...
dczd

Fascinating - reads like a mystery

by dczd on Apr 1, 2007

My husband and I Ioved this book, and have recommended it over and over again as some of the best non-fiction we have ever read. The book opens with Calvin's burning of a monk at the stake for heresy - because the monk wrote a book which challenged the Trinity. Calvin also had all of the monk's books destroyed- but three copies survived. The Goldstones unravel the mystery of how those volumes survived, even until today, and with humor and historic detail, also unfold the story of Unitarianism. We think a good fiction companion book to read is The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl. It is a literary mystery that is set in Cambridge, Mass. in the 19th century, in a society in which Unitarianism was part of the backdrop for the story. Be assured, neither of these books is a "religious" book - just great reading.

Read more...
Luvagoodbook

Excellent-real page turner

by Luvagoodbook on Apr 1, 2007

Very informative and readable. Fascinating account of Michael Servetus, but I also learned a lot about Calvin, Gutenburg and printers of the day, etc. - this book has a wealth of information woven into a fast paced narrative. Then we have the book detectives on the trail of a rare book and how the author of this rare book, whose ideas his enemies tried to exterminate in his day, has continued to influence succeeding generations with his work.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!