Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 0375831436 / ISBN-13: 9780375831430

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

by

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and "New York ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $3.03
Collectible from  $36.00

Change currency
  • The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy (Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers) – Hardcover (2005)
    by Jeanne Birdsall

    The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

    Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
    2005
    English
    262 pages

    ISBN: 0375831436
    ISBN-13: 9780375831430

    With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and "New York Times" bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best ... Show more

  • 1. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    NV, USA

    Description: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages....

    Show details
  • 2. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    GA, USA

    Description: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear...

    Show details
  • 3. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OR, USA

    Description: Good. Dust Cover Missing. Light shelf wear and minimal interior...

    Show details
  • 4. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    AZ, USA

    Description: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover...

    Show details
  • 5. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    CT, USA

    Description: Good. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding....

    Show details
  • 6. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    TX, USA

    Description: Good. 0375831436 0375831436 Hardcover, Former library book with...

    Show details
  • 7. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MA, USA

    Description: Portion of Proceeds Benefit the Big Brothers and Big Sisters of...

    Show details
  • 8. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fair

    Ships from:
    MD, USA

    Description: Fair. Free State Books. Never settle for less.

    Show details
  • 9. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Fair

    Ships from:
    NV, USA

    Description: Fair. Dust Cover Missing. Biggest little used bookstore in the...

    Show details
  • 10. Hardcover, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.95
    You save: $14.96 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    CA, USA

    Description: Shipped within 24 hours. 100% Refund Guaranteed. Very good with...

    Show details

Reviews of The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Overall customer rating: 4.334
Mary H

Perfect for Summer

by Mary H on Jul 19, 2012

This first in series book is an introduction to a wonderful group of people that anyone would want to know. After reading it myself, bought it for niece's visit. It is not fantasy but has an element of adventure. The writing is intelligent and challenging (there are Latin phrases) but the story races right along. The title says it all.

Read more...
Dormouse

On The Fence

by Dormouse on May 4, 2007

It was difficult to decide if I liked this book or not. I really wanted to like it. Overall, the plot was rather like the family stories of days-gone-by. Think modern Bobsey Twins or Happy Hollisters. I won't fault it for that. It chronicles the bucolic events of four sisters on summer vacation. The characters were more fleshed out than older books of this kind, but they were hardly more believable. Some of the quirks and characteristics of the girls seemed rather forced. I appreciate that the siblings (mostly) get along, though the sister with the most personality was a bit too unlikable and showed little growth in the course of the story. The villain was a parent who had no redeeming qualities. That might work for Roald Dahl, but not in this innocent tale. The book ended abruptly and seemed incomplete without a sequel. I applaud the author's goal of wholesome family reading. I hope that as she continues to write, her writing style will improve. I would recommend this book because there is often little available that is wholesome and free of R-rated language, but it won't be first on our summer reading list.

Read more...
VoraciousReader

Summer Vacation Fun

by VoraciousReader on May 2, 2007

This is a fun story full of humorous mishaps and backyard adventures that all take place on the Penderwick family?s summer vacation. It is also a story about friendship and family. The characters are absolutely wonderful: from smart and feisty Skye, to the teenage Civil War buff, to the father who speaks to his children in Latin! Each character, even the more minor ones, has their own distinct personality that makes them memorable. To my mind, this is children?s literature at its best!

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!