Find Your Next Favorite Book
New books for fans of fiction
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 0306814188 / ISBN-13: 9780306814181

The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream

by

In the tradition of "The Boys of Summer, The Last Best League" is about dreams fulfilled and dreams denied, about Cape Cod and the rites of summer, ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $2.02
Collectible from  $12.25

Change currency
  • The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream (Da Capo Press) – Trade paperback (2005)
    by Jim Collins

    The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream

    Trade paperback, Da Capo Press
    2005
    English
    273 pages

    ISBN: 0306814188
    ISBN-13: 9780306814181

    Every summer, in ten small towns across Cape Cod, the finest college baseball players in the country gather in hopes of making it to "The Show." The hopes are justifiably high: The Cape Cod Baseball League is the best amateur league in the world, producing one out of every six major league players, from Nomar Garciaparra and Frank Thomas to Jeff Bagwell and Barry Zito.Jim Collins chronicles a season in the life of one team--the Chatham A's, perhaps the most celebrated team in the league. Set against the backdrop of a resort ... Show more

  • 1. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    AZ, USA

    Description: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover...

    Show details
  • 2. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    TX, USA

    Description: Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and...

    Show details
  • 3. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Book is in very good condition, there may be some minor wear...

    Show details
  • 4. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books...

    Show details
  • 5. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Good.

    Show details
  • 6. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    IN, USA

    Description: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on...

    Show details
  • 7. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    MA, USA

    Description: This book is in standard used condition, and may have minor...

    Show details
  • 8. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    CA, USA

    Description: Good. Soft cover may have some wear, especially along edges and...

    Show details
  • 9. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Description: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on...

    Show details
  • 10. Trade paperback, Da Capo Press, 2005

    $0.99
    List price: $15.99
    You save: $15.00 (94%)

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Good. Go green, recycle! Book may have wear from reading, may...

    Show details

Reviews of The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream

Overall customer rating: 4.000
JSH12

Good Read

by JSH12 on May 31, 2007

A well-written, intimate account of the organization behind the Cape Cod League and the people who've helped it grow. It doesn't ignore the warts of many of the participants or the players and provides insights into the grind that is part of pro baseball. More than a simply rehash of games and box scores, it examines the thoughts and reports the actions of players, parents, coaches, and others; some of whom you'll respect and enjoy - others you probably won't. A candid and surprisingly honest reporting of the Summer of 2002.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to The Last Best League: One Summer, One Season, One Dream

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!