Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

ISBN: 000715464X / ISBN-13: 9780007154647

Getting Mother's Body

by

The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $3.87
Buy new from  $9.03

Change currency
  • Getting Mother's Body (HarperPerennial) – Mass-market paperback (2004)
    by Suzan-Lori Parks

    Getting Mother's Body

    Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial
    2004
    304 pages

    ISBN: 000715464X
    ISBN-13: 9780007154647

    The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker. In the 1950s, in a small southern town in the US, the Beedes are the lowest of the low. Always struggling, they remain shackled by poverty and their own lack of ambition. Everyone, but sixteen-year-old Billie Beede. Billy Beede has big ideas about her life. She's had the Beede misfortune to get pregnant by an itinerant coffin salesman. And when he ... Show more

  • 1. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $3.87

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    OH, USA

    Description: Good. Pages may have contain writing, highlighting or notes. May...

    Show details
  • 2. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $4.50

    Add to Cart

    Description: Fine. Book has no wear with all pages clean.

    Show details
  • 3. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $9.03

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    NJ, USA

    Description: New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller...

    Show details
  • 4. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $10.99

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Very Good

    Ships from:
    LINCS, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: *** QUALITY EX LIBRARY COPY***IN VERY GOOD GENERAL CONDITION**...

    Show details
  • 5. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $10.99

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    LANCASHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: Ex Library book with usual stamps and stickers. Good Clean...

    Show details
  • 6. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $11.43

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    Good

    Ships from:
    WEST SUSSEX, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All...

    Show details
  • 7. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $15.79

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    GLOS, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller...

    Show details
  • 8. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $15.82

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    GLOUCESTERSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller...

    Show details
  • 9. Mass-market paperback, HarperPerennial, 2004

    $20.83

    Add to Cart

    Condition:
    New

    Ships from:
    MERSEYSIDE, UNITED KINGDOM

    Description: New. B-format paperback. 304 p.

    Show details

Reviews of Getting Mother's Body

Overall customer rating: 4.000
bookboy

Extremely entertaining

by bookboy on Jun 19, 2007

Getting Mother's Body along with ZZ Packer's Drinking Coffee Elsewhere are two of the freshest, most exciting works of African American fiction that I have come across in years. They're also two of the best books I've bought this year. Both books (Packer's is a collection of short stories) eschews the common girlfriends/black-men-are-no-good themes of most comtemporary black writers like McMillan and shy away from more cerebral and metaphorical themes like Morrison or Walker. Instead this is straight forward fiction meant to entertian that just so happens to have black main characters. Getting Mother's Body, like McMillan's Day Late and a Dollar Short, is told from the POV of several characters with the purposeful use of bad grammar. Although some grammatical purists may find it difficult to get into the novel for that reason, I felt it lent an honest and real voice to the characters. Not everyone says "are not" instead of "ain't" or "going to" instead of "gonna". Personally, I found the purposeful use of bad grammar more difficlut to follow in McMillan's Day Late... than Getting Mother's Body. I won't go into the particulars of the novel as so many others have. What I will say is that this is a breezy, fast and fun read. Parks is a vivid storyteller and her images scroll across your mind like a well paced movie. Pick this up and see for yourself. Pure, unadulterated fun.

Read more...
Scouterpie

A play in novel form

by Scouterpie on Jun 1, 2007

Really reads like a play. Close your eyes and imagine each chapter/speaker standing on stage bathed in a spotlight, while the remaining characters share the stage unlit. Up light, down light, up light and so on. Interesting characters, mostly predictable plot turns, but not dull. I thought it was a quick read, but don't try it in multiple sittings. Really best read in a few large chunks.

Read more...
Love it or hate it? Review it now

Discussions about Getting Mother's Body

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!