Our Money-Back Guarantee



Once the big house on an Irish estate, Birchwood has turned into a baroque madhouse for its ruined inhabitants. One disaster succeeds another, until ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy It from  $0.99
Buy new from  $3.96
Collectible from  $48.00
Alternate from  $7.96
Change currency

Reviews of Birchwood

Average rating
4 out of 5 stars
  • A gothic treasure! Apr 1, 2007
    by violetbooks

    John Banville is a master of atmosphere and uncannily beautiful, detailed descriptions that so perfectly, headily transport the reader to its dark world. This book is an older one of his that's a classic gothic tale of shadowy thoughts and family dynamics. Its a bit more abstract than his most recent award winning The Sea, but its one of my favourites -and I've read almost all of his work. In the tradition of Patrick MacGrath or Poe, Banville delivers an unforgettable feast of tortured soul that I could not stop reading and will no doubt read again soon.

See All Reviews of Birchwood by John Banville