Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

The Purple Cloud

by

Dark, desolate and fantastical, "The Purple Cloud" was a pioneer in the genre of apocalyptic novels, and the first great science fiction work of the ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $2.25
Buy new from  $3.89
Collectible from  $3.95
Change currency

Reviews of The Purple Cloud

Average rating
4.000
4 out of 5 stars
Sort reviews by
  • the end of mankind Aug 17, 2010
    by Nicolas

    Great book of another story about the end of the world (reccurent to this period of time ~1930)
    I just finished reading Earth abides and it is as good as this one, though different.

  • Mind-bending Prose at the End of the World Feb 19, 2008
    by klarkash

    This flawed but still magnificent 1901 work was an early "end of the world" novel, exerting an influence on Stephen King's "The Stand" among many others. Shiel's work is distinguished by indescribably ornate prose and a wide range of erudite references. The power of "The Purple Cloud" is also its downfall; the last third of the novel can't match the first sections, in which Shiel paints, with insane visionary power, the enduring modern fantasy of finding oneself the last man alive on earth. The protagonist Adam Jeffson is the first to reach the North Pole, where his presence seems to trigger a bizarre phenomenon of natural vengeance for his hubris- descending by ship from the pole, he finds not a single soul alive, as a lethal cloud of purple poison has spread over the earth, obliterating all life in its path. Jeffson, borne on waves of Shiel's billowing, decadent poetry of the damned, begins his own campaign of obliteration, burning the dead cities of the earth. Shiel achieves a heightened, widescreen glory unencumbered by plausibility- you will love or hate this book depending on your appreciation for verbal audacity and 50-cent words. Fans of Poe, Lovecraft, and Clark Ashton Smith will find much to appreciate here.

See all reviews of The Purple Cloud by M P Shiel

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!